Great News Journalists!

Who would have thought? According to the Los Angeles Times recently released an article stating that the decline of newspapers is slowing. In my opinion this is the greatest news the journalism world could ask for. I find this unbelievable considering the fact that this online newspaper readership is increasing along with the use of social media for instant news. 

Now this isn’t a complete victory for print journalists, readership is still declining, however, every small victory for journalists is huge for the future of print.  

My question is why the change? Why now? I’m curious to know who these people are who are picking up the newspapers and why now.

This is a glimmer of hope for print. I think one none of us knew was coming.  We have all but written off print media as a viable source for news. I believe we all know that there are more immediate forms of news so perhaps the lure of newspapers is nostalgia. Newspapers slow us down and remind of us of a simpler time. I know that’s the case for me.  Newspapers are associated with relaxation. If you think about it, what do you do when you read newspapers? I picture sitting in a coffee shop relaxing while I read. Newspapers will always have a positive connotation for me. Perhaps this is the thinking of those who have decided to pick up a newspaper once again.

It is great to see that the decline of newspapers is slowing. We can only hope that this continues so we can preserve this way of receiving news.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great News Journalists!

  1. zachdrex says:

    Interesting. I would also like to know who it is that is causing the decline of newspapers to slow down.

  2. cvelazquez1 says:

    It is really wonderful and surprising to hear that decline of newspapers is slowing. I am tired of hearing that the newspaper industry is dying. What isn’t surprising is to hear that readership is still declining. With the internet now being the number one way to read the news, I am sure there are still a few people out there who prefer to read something more tangible like a newspaper. Like Zach, I also wonder what is causing the decline of newspapers to slow down. Whatever the reason is, I’m glad it’s happening.

Leave a Reply

