{(:;,’…”National Punctuation Day!”-?!)}

By Tyler Austin

So this past Friday was National Punctuation Day! I can only hope that I punctuate everything correctly in this post, or I would be the world’s worst Punctuation Day advocate.

Here is the official website: http://www.nationalpunctuationday.com/.

Let’s celebrate- a little late, but better than never. I think punctuation is one of those topics that everyone thinks they understand, but no one really does, myself included. We should all study up on this topic! I’ve compiled a list of websites that can help us all remember when to use that over-used comma or semi-colon.

This “Handy Punctuation Reference” Guide is from George Perimeter College (and it is pretty handy):

http://www.gpc.edu/~duniss/WritingHandouts/HandyPunctuationReference.pdf

From Purdue’s Online Writing Lab:

http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/section/1/

Punctuation Playtime isn’t just for kids anymore! Watch some of the videos!

http://www.punctuationplaytime.com/index.html

Also, go to YouTube and search ‘punctuation songs’ or ‘grammar songs’ and just enjoy. There are some pretty funny videos out there. Here’s one from the Grammar Gang:

So mark your calendars for next year! September 24 is National Punctuation Day!

Oh, and sorry about the title! I did mean to place all the punctuation marks in it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to {(:;,’…”National Punctuation Day!”-?!)}

  1. omedina49 says:

    this is so cool! I never knew there was such a thing. I wish i could have been a part of this sooner. I think it is so cool to see that there are people who are passionate about grammar and punctuation. I think that it would help my grammar and punctuation if i invested some time on visiting sites like the ones you posted and finding fun ways to remember proper grammar and punctuation.

Leave a Reply

