Big things come in small 140 word packages

By Victoria Robillard

Who knew! I have to admit about 6 months ago I wasn’t the biggest Twitter fan. I just didn’t get it to say it simply. There’s not much that could be said in a 140 words or so I thought. I don’t know if I have ever been more wrong. When I first started my Twitter in March, I was tentative at best. I mean I got MySpace I get Facebook but Twitter was just different. There were no albums of pretty pictures, no likes, and no dislikes, just a whole bunch of #and @ that I didn’t understand how or why I need them to say @vrobillard (me) is doing this or eating that or at the gym or stuck in traffic( No, I do not Tweet when I drive, it’s just an example).

Flash forward to August, my Twitter world of Tweets every so often occasionally throwing out hash tags and “at”ing people was transformed the day I received my BlackBerry. My Twitter page was at my fingertips 24/7. If I saw a pretty bird…TwitPic, if on my way to class #CSUF, updates every hour about anything I could think of.

As I reached full on Twitter fever, I finally understood what Twitter was all about.  Still no albums, no music on the homepage, no “wall”, however, there is job postings, the best access to news I could ask for, a pretty blue bird on my page whenever I open it.

Now we are in September and I can say my Twitter usage and lingo has become more sophisticated, I now follow major PR firms to get the latest info in my future career, several job boards that constantly update job openings through Tweets, even a few CSUF professors, and of course my guilty pleasure, Alyssa Milano.

No, Twitter is not like Facebook or MySpace, I prefer it better, There is valuable info in 140 words it’s just takes time and patience and a few random @’s and #’s. Eventually, you will find your way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Big things come in small 140 word packages

  1. Kay Gilbert says:

    Do you think twitter is an important tool to a new public relations professional just starting out?

  2. I’m not really sure twitter is an important tool to a new public. I can’t wait to see what happens with twitter in the next two years. How it will expand and what it will become. I don’t like to twitter because I like everything I do personal with the my friends shared in a personal manner. I don’t know, maybe I’m old school

Leave a Reply

