Journalism Going Portable & Green

News going mobile

We’ve all noticed the decline of the journalism field. Job cuts at newspapers and magazines are rising every year, while the internet continues to expand. Now that the internet is going portable, i.e. your phone, what’s going to happen to those newspapers and magazines that so heavily relied on subscription cost?

Almost every newspaper and magazine has its respected online version and now they’re going mobile.

In this article by Damon Kiesow, he highlights one magazine’s mission to continue revenue streams by going mobile. The Atlantic plans to create a paid mobile app where readers can have access to that month’s articles.

So what does this mean for us as writers? Well, I think this is going to make it much more difficult to captivate readers.  At least when the magazine/newspaper was online, the reader had to sit in front of the computer for a while. Now the reader is on his way to work; sitting at the park (hopefully…) watching her children; at school pretending to pay attention to their professor drone on.  We, as journalists, have less time to hook a reader and they have less time to read it. We’re going to have to become more creative and maybe even shorten our articles to bite-size-need-to-know portions (small enough to fit on an iPhone screen).

As media consumers and creators, would you pay $5 a month to read your favorite magazine on your phone? If you’re green conscious you may consider it. It does save trees, right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Journalism Going Portable & Green

  1. piamarani says:

    I understand the idea of everything going mobile or digital; after all we are in the digital age. And I completely agree with you. We are going to have a very difficult time as writers. Not only will we have to captivate an audience with the attention span of a gold fish…no offense to gold fish…but we will also have important ethical decisions to make. Web writers have “hit” quotas to fulfill, and unfortunately some writers are crossing the boundaries by purposefully placing faulty information simply to get people to click the link to their story. Of course, they may retract the facts in their story later, but it seems the damage has been done. And what average Joe fact checks?
    Maybe I’m old fashioned (at the ripe age of 23), but a part of me hopes print publications won’t completely vanish. The convenience of mobile information is practical in our million-mile-a-minute culture, but there is a beauty of sitting down with an actual newspaper or magazine.

    • tyleraustin334 says:

      I’m old fashion too. I like my Facebook (sometimes) and love my email, but when it comes down to reading I want a hard copy of it. I sit in front of a computer screen all day for work, and all night for homework. My eyes hurt! I also don’t care for e-textbooks. I’m pretty sure I’d go blind reading those.

      But regarding your ethical coment, agreed. I do notice I click on subject lines and part way through the story I find it’s not what I thought it was. It’s all about the clicks and time spent on a website that matters nowadays. They’ll do what they need to reach their quotas.

      And to answer my own question, for those of you who cared, I would never buy a $5 app just to read all those articles on a 2″x4″ screen. Again, I’d go blinder than I am.

  2. emilyrreno says:

    Its interesting when you look at the turn in Journalism from print to online. I think eventually the newspapers and magazines after that will become practically extinct. Although this is taking away a lot of jobs in this field there are also new ones emerging, like bloggers for example! I like my magazines so unless it was cheaper than 5$ a month I think I will stick with picking them up at the convenience store!

  3. kaygilbert334 says:

    I think magazines are here to stay! Like someone posted earlier, we get tired of looking at computer screens and magazines give us a break from being plugged in. I like being able to flip through magazines in long grocery lines and at my daughters dance practices, it’s my one quilty pleasure. I don’t think offering me a better deal to view my favorite magazine online would entice me to give up my subscription, not even for greens sake.

  4. zachdrex says:

    I love digital media, but there are some of problems. The screens on portable devices and cell phones are far too small to enjoy reading for extended periods of time. Also, fewer magazines mean fewer opportunities for advertisers. What will happen to the full-page bleed? Internet advertising is just as effective but there is less space for really big creative designs. Plus, it is nice to own a physical copy of something, rather than just the words on a flat screen.

Leave a Reply

